

ACT No. 12 of 2000 KAIETEUR NATIONAL PARK (AMENDMENT) ACT 2000

I assent.

Bharrat Jagdeo, President. 17th August, 2000

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

SECTION

- 1. Short title.
- 2. Amendment of the Principal Act.

AN ACT to amend the Kaieteur National Park Act.

A.D. 2000

Enacted by the Parliament of Guyana:-

Short title Cap. 20 02 1. This Act, which amends the Kaieteur National Park Act, may be cited as the Kaieteur National Park (Amendment) Act 2000.

Amendment of the Principal Act

- 2. The Principal Act is hereby amended in the following respects -
 - (a) by the insertion immediately after section 1 of the following section as section 1A.

"Interpretation. In this Act -

Cap 29:01

- (a) "Amerindian" has the same meaning as in the Amerindian Act;
- (b) "Amerindian people" means the Amerindians who as a group had been living proximate to the boundaries of the Extended Kaieteur National Park as defined in the Schedule by Order dated March 9, 1999* and have conducted activities of daily living therein.".
- (b) by the insertion immediately after section 3 of the following sections 3A and 3B -

"Act not in derogation of Amerindian rights. 3A. Nothing in this Act shall be construed as being in derogation of any right, privilege or freedom hitherto exercised by the Amerindian people, who shall continue to enjoy such right, privilege or freedom, to fish, hunt and generally to forage, and in so doing to promote sustainable forest and wild life management:

Provided that the aforesaid right, privilege or freedom shall only be exerciseable within the additional lands in the extended boundaries of the Kaieteur National Park as defined in the Schedule by Order dated 9th March, 1999*.

^{*}Kaieteur National Park (Amendment) Order 1999 (No. 4 of 1999)

3B. Within the boundaries of the Kaieteur National Park as defined in the Schedule before 9th March, 1999 the Amerindian people in that area shall enjoy unrestricted right to travel in and out of the Park.".

Unrestricted right to travel.

Passed by the National Assembly on 27th July, 2000.

F. A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly.

(BILL No. 10/2000)